Frequently Asked Questions
A: It's actually very simple, if you can drive a car then you should have no problem driving a boat. Our staff will provide complete and thorough instructions prior to your rental.
A: Yes, Jet Ski Tours of Miami's staff will provide complete and thorough instructions prior to your rental. They rent to thousands of "first timers" every year ranging from teenagers, to athletes, to seniors.
A: In additional to operational and safety instructions, our staff will personally go over our local cruising guide with you prior to your rental. The guide details and maps are out all information about our local waterways, including water depth, channels, gas stations, restaurants, and sand bars. A laminated copy of this visual cruising guide is provided for use during your rental.
A: For boat rentals, life jackets are provided and required to be on-board, and passengers ages 6 and under must wear a life jacket at all times. For jet ski rentals, life jackets are required by law and are provided with your rental at no extra charge. We have all sizes from infant to XXXL and everything in-between.
A: State law requires a person to be at least 18 years old to rent, 14 years old to operate, and passengers can be any age. Those born on or after Jan. 1st, 1988 may require a Florida Boating Permit to drive. We can issue temporary permits at our location.
A: A refund will only be issued only with a minimum 1 week notice of cancellation. For cancellations within 1 week, refunds will not be issued. Instead, AWS will issue and hold an in-house credit, for use towards a future rental, if we are able to rebook the boat with another customer. American WaterSports reserves the right to make changes to the reservation in the event the reserved vessel would become unavailable for any reason, or for unsafe weather. If AWS determines the weather to be unsafe, you can choose to go another day / time or receive a refund.
A: Our staff has a combined experience of over 30 years with boat / jet ski rentals. American WaterSports has been operating at the same Coconut Grove Location, at Monty's Marina, since 2004.
A: All of our boats are equipped with VHF radios, VHF channels are constantly monitored by our staff, the United States Coast Guard, local marine police and almost every other boat on the water. The jet skis are always monitored by Jet Ski Tours of Miami staff, on their own separate jet ski, to help and assist with any issues or questions. Their tour guides always carry waterproof phones and a safety box on every tour, they are never more than a whistle away at all times.
A: The Florida Department of Revenue regulates sales tax at 7%. Gas charges vary, but is calculated similar to rental cars. Several gas options will be made available prior to your rentals including prepaying, refueling yourself at the gas dock or paying at return.
A: Boat security deposit ranges from $1500 to $3000 per vessel, accepted as cash or credit card authorization. Jet Ski Tours of Miami does not require a security deposit on jet ski rentals.
A: Cash deposits are returned at the end of the rental. Credit card authorizations only verify funds are available and are not charges. The issuing bank will place a hold or "freeze" for the deposit amount and typically release it in one to three days. If necessary we can usually assist in an immediate release.
A: 99% of our customers receive a full refund of their deposit. Deposit charges on boat rentals are most commonly propeller related caused by operating in shallow waters (outlined in the visual cruising guide). Using common sense, listening to instructions, operating safely, and maintaining safe distances and water depths are smart ways to ensure a fun, yet safe, rental with no unfortunate complications.